The sugar free, fake food colouring free 1st birthday cake CHALLENGE

So far Alyssa is a sugar free baby. Sure she has sweet things – litres of breast milk which is the sweetest thing out (especially at the moment, she’s back to feeding 8-10 times a day!!), plenty of sweet fruit, and has had a bit of jam on toast once or twice. But all the baking I’ve done for her has been sugar free and she’s never had any commercial baking, deserts or ice cream. It hasn’t been at all difficult to be this way – so far.

But Alyssa’s first birthday is approaching and I want to make her a superb cake. I have wonderful memories of childhood cakes that Mum made for us such as dolls and racing tracks.

However, for a cake to be cool it needs to be decorated. For a cake to be decorated it really needs colour and ‘things’. ‘Things’ are usually sweets and lollies, but I suppose could be seeds and nuts. However seeds and nuts aren’t really ideal for a one year old, and colour is conventionally made of artificial numbers. I don’t want to feed my baby numbers, nuts or lollies.

So here is the challenge:

A superbly decorated and sugar free cake for my big one year old baby.

I do have a bit of a plan which I’m not going to divulge – you’ll have to wait for photos after the 5th October.

And now I’m committed. Any suggestions, folks?

One thought on “The sugar free, fake food colouring free 1st birthday cake CHALLENGE

  1. Lisa Keene says:

    Hey Megan, I can’t wait to see your creation! Fruit is beautiful and I bet a bit of artful arranging could make funky and fun patterns for us all to admire.

Share your thoughts and I'll be sure to keep them company with a reply